Summer Season Previews

\Akkariiiin!/

Hello, everyone, it’s been a while. Work has been destroying my ability to keep up with anime. I’ve got a 1.5 hour commute (both ways) and starting from next week, I’ll be flying to Dallas every Monday through Thursday. Exciting times for me, but no time at all for my hobbies. The spring season’s winding down, so it’s time for me to write about my picks for next season.

Jinrui wa Suitai Shimashita

If Tanaka Romio’s other work is any indication, Jinrui wa Suitai Shimashita will be brilliant. This is the guy who wrote classics such as Kana ImoutoYume Miru Kururi and Cross Channel. However, this will be animated by AIC, and they tend to be inconsistent. I’d be interested in seeing Romio’s work adapted for the TV. I’ve always loved his visual novels. They were fresh, interesting and lacked the same kind of ridiculous melodrama that characterized works from studios like Key. Though Jinrui wa Suitai Shimashita is a light novel, I’ll have to reserve judgement until I actually see the show. This one’s a toss-up, but I’m inclined to say that it’s going to be good.

Koi to Senkyo to Chocolate

Let us be absolutely clear: Shinonome Satsuki MADE KoiChoco.

Oh boy, KoiChoco. This was the last eroge I played all the way through, back in 2010. KoiChoco suffered from much of the same problems as most romantic comedies: unattractive main heroine, forced melodrama, et cetera. At least the main character has some spine. That made him far more memorable than your average anime protagonist. The story itself is fairly interesting, offering a fairly cynical view of electoral politics; however, KoiChoco‘s biggest problem lay in its inability to tie together the plot in a neat fashion. The show starts off great, gets into the nitty-gritty of electioneering, the main character then falls in love… and the election is forgotten. Hopefully, the anime will be able to address some of these issues and explore some of the side characters, who are infinitely more interesting than the main heroine. I doubt it, though. Still, I’ll watch this until I decide it’s no longer worth my time.

Tari Tari

From left: Ohana, Nako, Minchi

I know what you’re all thinking. “Oh, four girls, starting a band and shit. This is going to be awful.” Except it isn’t. It’s three girls starting a band. But seriously, let me explain. I’m a huge fan of PA Works and everything that they do. Sure, they may not be the greatest studio around (but they’re pretty damn close from a technical perspective), but the work they do is original. Remember Hanasaku Iroha? Remember how we all thought it was going to be absolutely terrible? Well, it wasn’t, and that’s what counts. I’m all for anime originals, and PA Works has really been outstanding in that regard. I’ll watch it just to support what they do. Plus, it’s PA Works, so it can’t be that bad. None of their shows have been without merit― even Angel Beats had its good moments.

Moyashimon Returns

Kono naka ni hitori, MEXICAN ga iru

I’m going to call it right now― this is going to be the best show next season. It’s fucking Moyashimon. Science. Lesbians. High society intrigue. Surstromming. One of the main characters is even secretly… a Mexican.

I am HYPE AS FUCK.

Everything Else

Yuru Yuri♪♪ will be amazing. Everything else, couldn’t care less about.

4 responses to “Summer Season Previews

  1. Any thoughts on Kokoro Connect? It looks a bit more interesting than Tari Tari, imo. I’m also looking forward to the other noitaminA slot, Natsuyuki Rendezvous.

  2. Ahhh nice list here Akira! I was curious as to what you were going to watch in the summer because I heard most people saying this is going to be a weak season, but I feel that way with any new season we always get hit series and a few failed projects.

    I am looking forward to Rinne No Lagrange season two, Sword Art Online and of course the best comedy of summer! Yuru Yuri S2. Of course it might not be “best comedy” ever, but I like all the character interactions of the first season especially the scenes with Akaaarinnnnn or Toshinou Kyoukoooooo.

    Moyashimon Returns! I recently finished season one a few days ago and loved every minute of that even the strange events in the final three episodes, but yeah I can’t wait to see what happens in the next season coming soon.

    Great choices for Tari Tari and Koi to Senkyo to Chocolate I have to give those a shot whenever they get released.

Don't be shy. Say something.

